My first weekend

I got through Friday night with no wine.  If Shawn had brought a bottle home, there is NO WAY I would have had the willpower to say no.  But, he had agreed not to and followed through so I was so thankful.  It was a rough night with the cravings for wine and junk food.  But I made it through and was so proud of myself.

Saturday was so productive with the kids.  What a difference no wine hangover makes.  We took the kids to the museum in the morning and a walk in the woods in the afternoon.  Shawn played games with them throughout the day and evening.  I commented to him, “What wonderful parents we are when we don’t drink and stay up late.”

Last night we had a beautiful vegan pizza – the leftover lentil tomato sauce for the night before’s past, on a pre-made Costco thin crust, then topped with:

spinach leaves, onions, red bell pepper, zucchini, tomatoes, and drizzled with lots of cashew sauce(raw cashews, orange juice, garlic, salt, ginger whipped in Blendtech).  I made it in ten minutes.  Simple and delicious.

Behind me this morning, Shawn is playing hide and seek with the kids.  We will take them all for a walk in the woods this afternoon.

So, I will continue to focus on the positive stuff that a healthy lifestyle brings, not what I am missing out on.

One comment on “My first weekend

  1. Anna says:

    That is wonderful Lisa, it is amazing what certain types of food and alcohol does to one’s spirit and live. I remember when I quit drinking how I saw everything with color and not grey. I see that alcohol affects so many parts of one’s life and one does not even notice it until one gives it up. I think it is the same with foods, good food lifts the spirit and bad foods bring in the negative spirits. I just hope that Shawn can sustain not having wine on the weekends. If he does not drink then you will not drink.

Leave a Reply

