DAY 1

It’s after 7pm, and I am drinking a herbal tea.  I made it through day 1 (as long as I don’t eat anything until tomorrow)!

Recap:

lemon water with a pinch of cayenne pepper

meditated for 8 minutes (it’s a start)

1 cup of green tea

smoothy around 11am – two handfuls of spinach, 1 cup thawed frozen berries, 1 banana, water.

Lunch was salad.

salad with tahini dressing

Walked for 40 minutes.  It was a beautiful day and I did a new loop. Discovered a lovely new street in my neighbourhood.

Snack: A raw cookie that I adapted from this one from chocolatecoveredkatie. I don’t recommend making these if you have issues with binge eating as they are SO GOOD it is hard to stop.  I’ll post my recipe adaptation and take a picture later.

Supper:  Quinoa with the leftover beans from lunch.

african inspired quinoa

Dessert: another raw cookie and a cup of herbal tea.

A LOOK BACK ON TODAY:  I felt great today.  I was never heavy into coffee so I didn’t experience any withdrawal.  I was a bit lightheaded during my walk after lunch, but this passed.  I was surprised that I didn’t feel hungry until about 11am, then my smoothie held me over until around 1pm.

RECIPES:

SALAD: mixed greens, grated carrot, grated cabbage, cucumber, yellow pepper, cooked pinto beans

Tahini dressing:

1/2 tablespoon french mustard

1 tablespoon tahini

1 tablespoon cider vinegar

1 clove minced garlic

1 tablespoon fresh herbs (I used dill and parsley)

Stir or blend all the ingredients.  Mix in water until you get a consistency you like.  Add more of any of the above until you get the perfect taste for you.

QUINOA with beans and Kale

1 medium onion (diced)

1 teaspoon cumin powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

salt and pepper to taste (go easy on the salt)

2 teaspoon chili powder

dash mace

1 1/2 cups dry quinoa

3 cups water

1 cup chopped kale (fresh or frozen)

1/3 cup sultana raisins

1 cup beans (I used pinto)

1/2 cup chopped tomatoes

1/2 cup chopped bell pepper

chopped fresh oregano and parsley to garnish.

In a medium sized pot, saute the onions with a bit of water until they are translucent.  Add spices and quinoa and stir for about a minute. Add the water, cover the pot and bring to boil.  Lower heat and simmer 15 minutes.  Stir in the kale, raisins and beans then cook with lid on for another 5 minutes.  Taste and adjust the seasonings.  Now stir in the tomatoes and peppers then cook for another 1 -2 minutes.  Plate it and garnish with herbs.  Try not to overcook the veggies, but if you do it will still be tasty.

How did the rest of you do today?

This entry was posted in Recipes.

One comment on “DAY 1

  1. Quinoi was great for lunch, better cold on day 2, had more flavour. Thank god for those little cookies, I went for a walk and was feeling snacky…..there were no carrot stores nearby and my realization that all my usual snack locations were now evil dens of the grain made me panic a bit. No coffee this AM was hard too, my stomach is talking to me, it’s pissed.

Leave a Reply

