DAY 4: Pizza averted

I did my taxes today.  It took until 2pm, working between baby naps and picking up my other son from daycare.  I did manage to work in my morning routine – water, green tea, smoothie and (12 minute!) meditation.  I even ate my leftover for lunch.

When the taxes were finishes, I was EXHAUSTED.  My first though was, “I don’t want to cook tonight.  I wish I could order a pizza.”  In the PRE-cleanse days, I would have done just that.  Husband would have brought home a bottle or two of wine, and including the pizza we’d be out $40-$60.  Instead, around 4:30, I gathered what little energy I had, took a can of beans off the shelf and got creative.  The result: bean tacos with homemade corn tortillas and guacamole.  Don’t know if the hot sauce I ate is on our cleanse, but tacos need hot sauce and I just used a drizzle.

The tacos were a HIT.  Bursting with flavor.  SOOOOO much better than those shells in a box plus ground beef.  We didn’t miss the meat at all.  The guac was especially delicious.  The tortillas, though tasty, were a bit of a disaster.  I’ve never used corn flour before.  It doesn’t behave like wheat flour.  I had to pat out “circles” with my hand because they kept breaking when I rolled them.  If you can buy packaged, I would suggest it.  I can’t buy them here though.

I probably ate too much because I was too full for my cookie and tea.  My husband went out in the evening, so I wasn’t able to take my 35 minute walk.

I fell asleep completely drained, only to be woken up every 2 hours by a mean baby.

RECIPES

Black Bean Taco with corn tortilla and guacamole

Black bean taco with all the fixins!

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 teaspoon mustard seeds

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1tablesoom chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin powder

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 stalk celery, chopped finely

1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (minced)

1 398 ml can fire roasted tomatoes, drained and liquid reserved

1  540 ml can black beans

1 cup frozen corn

1 cup fresh spinach,  or ½ cup frozen spinach

fresh cilantro to garnish

Heat oil in a pot.  Add mustard seeds and toast for a minute.  Add onion and cook until translucent.  Throw in garlic and cook another minute before stirring in the rest of the spices, chipotle and celery.  Cook the celery down for 2 -3 minutes.  Add a bit water to prevent sticking.  Put in the drained tomatoes, beans, and corn.  Simmer for 15 minutes, adding reserved tomato juices if it getting dry.  The mixture should be quite thick, so you may need to simmer off some water before you eat.  Put in spinach and cook another couple of minutes.  Serve on corn tortillas, with lettuce, veggies and guacamole.

Bean Taco Night

Lisa’s BEST Guacamole Ever

¼ cup raw cashews

1/8 cup golden raisins

½ cup water

1 avocado

¼ cup fresh cilantro

1 lime, zested and juiced

1 tablespoon olive oil (optional)

salt to taste

Soak cashews, raisins, and water for at least 20 minutes.  Put them in a blender/food processor along with all the remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.  Add more water as needed to get the consistency you like.

Corn Tortillas

2 cups Maseca corn flour

¼ teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups water

Combine all ingredients and stir with your hand for 2 minutes.  Pull off a golf ball sized piece and press into a thin disk between your hands (you’ll need to corn flour your hands to prevent sticking).  Drop on a hot frying pan for about a minute, until it starts to form brown spots.  Flip and cook other side for about a minute.  Repeat until dough is done.  Put on plate and keep in a warm oven until you are ready to eat.

Leave a Reply

