Day 6: Chickpea and Grain Stuffed Squash

I did end up going for a long walk, almost an hour.  It felt great.  I also cleaned out the fridge.  Took EVERYTHING out, trashed all the expired bottles of this and that, scrubbed it down, reorganized.  The fridge looks brand new.  I made a space for my 4 boxes of spinach and salad greens that I bought today.

Today, over the course of the morning, I drank my giant blender full of smoothie.  In the afternoon, I had 3 brown rice crackers smeared with peanut butter and topped with thinly sliced apples.  Delicious!  I was completely satisfied until we ate supper at 6:30pm.

Supper was really good.  I made a stuffed butternut squash with some leftover quinoa/millet I had made the night before.  I am really getting the feel for this vegan cooking.  I just make sure to incorporate a vegetable, grain, and bean then have fun with the spice combination.  If you are following my recipes, please always adjust the seasoning to your taste as I am mostly estimating the quantities.

Finished squash quartered. We ate the whole squash between the two of us.

Squash stuffed with quinoa/millet/chickpeas…etc

1 squash, any variety

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 onion, diced

1 celery stalk, chopped

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon thyme

½ teaspoon sage

¼ teaspoon nutmeg

salt & pepper to taste

½ cup quinoa + ½ cup millet (or any other grain you like)

¼ cup golden raisins

1/8 cup copped walnuts, toasted

1 cup cooked chickpeas

1 medium tomato, diced

½ cup fresh spinach, chopped

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cut squash in half and scoop out seeds.  Put cut side down on a non-oiled baking sheet.  Roast for about 30 minutes.  You don’t want it to be totally cooked when you pull it out.

Meanwhile, combine millet and quinoa with 2 cups of water and a dash of salt.  Bring to boil then lower heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

While grains and squash cook, in a large pan sauté onion and celery with olive oil until translucent.  Stir in spices.  Add water to prevent sticking/burning.  When grains are done cooking throw them into the pan with the onions and add rest of ingredients.  Stir it all up.  Taste it and make your adjustments.  Take the partly cooked squash, turn it over so it is cut side up, and scoop the grain mixture inside.  Press it in well and mound it on top.  Cover with aluminum foil and return it to the oven for another 20-30, or until squash is cooked.  Enjoy!  Great with a dash of hot sauce.

I also made a new cookie for dessert.  I know, I know.  Are you getting bored of eating the cookies?  I love them though.  However, I will work on something new for next week.  Until then, does anyone like TURTLES????  I’ll post that cookie recipe tomorrow.

2 comments on “Day 6: Chickpea and Grain Stuffed Squash

  1. Anna says:

    Looks delicious. I will have the same thing tomorrow since I have leftover vegetables. What kind of squash did you use?

  2. Anna says:

    Yes, Please post the Turtles. I am following your recipes.

Leave a Reply

