DAY 12 – Sweet/Smoky/Cheesy Chickpeas and Mexican Millet

I am a day late in posting this!  Took a night off the  blog last night.

I lost 2 lbs this week!  I walked 35-45 minutes a day.  Not so successful with the meditation though.  It is so difficult and I really don’t enjoy it.  I need to force myself to do it as I know it is good for my state of mind…especially with 3 kids in my life.  I did do the body scrubbing every day and my skin is so smooth.

This morning I noticed another side-effect from this cleanse- for my husband.  He has no body odour!  I noticed it today.  He always likes to wander around topless all morning on his days off, much to my dismay.  This morning, he was doing his usual weekend shirtless lounging, and NO stink!  Now he can run around naked for all I care!  He attributes it to not drinking, since before the cleanse he would always have a bottle of wine every Friday and Saturday night.  I’ll bet the clean eating is also part of it.  So, far only good effects from this cleanse.

I made a really fantastic supper last night.  The bean dish is my favourite up until this point.  The ground almonds give the sweet, smoky tomato/roasted pepper sauce an almost cheesy flavour.  SO good.  I served it alongside Mexican millet.

Sweet, smoky and cheesy chickpeas

Sweet, smoky and cheesy chickpeas


1/2 cup sliced almonds

1 28 oz can fire roasted tomatoes

2 roasted red bell peppers (homemade or bottled)

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon chili flakes

1 small onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup water (to deglaze pan)

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, crumled

1 x 28 oz can fire roasted tomatoes

2 x 15 oz cans chickpeas

salt and pepper to taste

Grind almonds semi-fine (coarser than pre-ground almonds that you buy) and set aside.  Blend tomatoes and bell peppers together, and set aside.  Heat oil and chili flakes in a pan, add onion and sauté for 5 minutes.  Add garlic, thyme and rosemary  and sauté for 1 minute.  Deglaze with water.  Add tomatoes/red pepper sauce.  Cook 10 minutes before adding chickpeas.  Simmer uncovered for 20-25 minutes.  Stir in almond meal.  Take off heat for 5-10 minutes before serving.

Mexican Millet

Mexican Millet

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 small onion, chopped finely

1 clove garlic, chopped1/4 jalapeño pepper, minced

1 cup millet (rinsed)

2 cups water

2 Tablespoons tomato paste

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

2 medium tomatoes, diced

2 Tablespoons chopped cilantro

Juice and zest of 1/2 lime

Heat oil and sauté onion for 5 minutes.  Add garlic and jalapeño, cook for 1 minute.  Add millet and stir for 3-5 minutes until it begins to get a golden colour (don’t worry if it doesn’t).  Add water, tomato paste, cumin and HALF of the diced tomatoes.  Bring to boil, then simmer for 25-30 minutes.  When millet has absorbed all the liquid, toss in other half of diced tomatoes, cilantro, lime juice and zest.  Gently combine.

Recipes loosely adapted from Veganomicon.

One comment on “DAY 12 – Sweet/Smoky/Cheesy Chickpeas and Mexican Millet

  1. Anna says:

    Can’t wait to try this recipe.

Leave a Reply

