DAY 13 – Mini Quiche and Polenta

I feel bad for my brother who is not enjoying this vegan cleanse.  He doesn’t seem to be getting the variety in his diet that we are getting at my house.  There is a bit of a learning curve to cooking vegan food.  I guess it went relatively quickly for me as I cook all the time anyway and count cooking as one of my favourite hobbies.  I also make the time to research recipes.  I haven’t watched television or aimlessly surfed the internet since starting this cleanse.  Cleansing out my brain too, I guess.  Anyway, Jo sounds like he is suffering through, eating the same thing everyday.  The point, though, is to get a daily variety of fruits and raw and cooked veggies.  Smaller amounts of grains and proteins.

After drinking a smoothy with almost a box of lettuce mix blended it (it expired today and was also a bit frost bitten from my too cold fridge), I felt I had enough salad for one day.  I had carrot soup for lunch.  So, I felt I got most of my veggies in today.  So, for supper I made tofu quiche with polenta and a side of baked broccoli.  After eating, I told husband that I could live on vegan food forever.  I like it that much.  Except when I’m hungry and smell bacon.

Mini Crustless Tofu Quiche

Crustless tofu quiche

1 teaspoon olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup red or orange bell pepper, chopped finely

1 cup chopped mushrooms

1 green onion, chopped

1 teaspoon dried rosemary, crumbled

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 16 oz package firm tofu

1/2 to 3/4 cup milk alternative

2 Tablespoons nutritional yeast

1 tablespoon corn starch

1 teaspoon tahini

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon turmeric

salt to taste

Preheat oven to 375 F.  Spray 12 muffin pan with oil.  Heat oil in a skillet and saute garlic, peppers, and mushrooms for 5 – 10 minutes, until softened.  Add green onion, rosemary and thyme.  Scrap into a bowl.

In a blender/food processor, blend together the rest of ingredients until smooth and creamy.  Add more milk alternative if necessary. Taste for salt.  Pour into bowl with veggies and mix.  Spoon into prepared muffin pans.  Top with a sprinkling of vegan parmesan (below) Bake 25-30 minutes until golden.

Adapted from fatfreevegan.

Vegan Parmesan

1 cup sliced almonds

1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon nutritional yeast

Blend all ingredients in a food processor.

Caramelized Onion Polenta with Sautéed Spinach

caramelized onion polenta

1/2 cup vegan parmesan (above)

1 1/2 cups fine cornmeal (size is in-between the coarse and powdered, though might work with either of those too)

3 cups water

salt

1 teaspoon oil

1 big yellow onion, about 4 cups sliced

1 1/2 cups spinach, chopped

Heat oven to 400 F.  Spray oil a 9 x 13 inch baking pan or line with parchment paper.  In a large skillet on medium heat, heat oil and put in onions.  Add a pinch of salt.  Stir onions around every 5 minutes or so for about 25 minutes, until they are golden and translucent. Turn off heat and put aside.

In a pot, bring to boil the water.  Add salt and cornmeal, and stir continuously for about 5 minutes until cooked and thickened.  If mixture is too dry, add some more water.  Take 2/3’s of onions, 1/2 cup vegan parmesan and mix into the cornmeal polenta.  Spread out onto the prepared pan.  Bake for 30-40 minutes until golden and pulling away from the sides of pan.  When ready to serve, heat remaining onions with spinach and a drizzle of water.  Cook until spinach is wilted.  Serve on top of a slice of polenta.

Adapted from 101cookbooks.

polenta with sautéed spinach

One comment on “DAY 13 – Mini Quiche and Polenta

  1. Anna says:

    Your pictures look amazing Lisa.

Leave a Reply

