Vegetable Based Eating Plan

I made another delicious soup.  I think soups and stews are my favorite meals because they are so easy to make.  I made a lentil soup tonight.  I always start off with frying onions in olive oil and adding sliced carrots, celery, cut up fresh string beans, one sweat potato cut up in pieces and then I added 1/2 cup of vegetable stock and emptied two cans of Amy’s lentil soup into the pot.   I cooked it until all of the ingredients were soft.   I made a big lettuce salad to go with the soup.   That was it. I am keeping a list of all of my meals so that I can repeat them over again.  I will put this soup on my list.  The nice thing about soups and stews, they are good the next day and keep well in the freezer.   I will freeze this soup and have it on Monday after school.

One thing that I have found with this vegetable-based eating plan is that I am full after I eat my dinner.  I never crave to eat something unhealthy.  My husband watched the hockey game yesterday and had a bag of chips to go with his beer.  I did not want any of those chips.   This is my 5 th week and I have not cheated on this diet at all.  I don’t think I have ever stayed away from junk food for such a long time.   This is what I think is amazing.   I see this change in eating as a commitment to the environment and to my health.   I did all of my other diets, which rarely lasted more than two weeks, for weight loss only.   I am doing this to loose weight but that is not the focus.   The focus is to feel fantastic, to be able to think clearer, to be able to sleep well, to walk without pains and to be able to play with my grandchildren and to share my experiences with them as they grow older.  If I kept up with the way I ate before I started this Vegetarian  journey, then I would not have seen my grandchildren grow older.

Leave a Reply

